Pia Bohr

TOUCH ME I AM SICK
27.05.2022 – 04.07.2022

Just over 15 years ago, the Arp Museum at the former Rolandseck railway station organised a traveling exhibition with around 200 works by the probably most important German sculptor Hans Arp.  I grew up near the museum's home town of Remagen, which is why, in spite of resistance, I had to be dragged along countless times by my parents. Once on site, I was fascinated - probably underpinned by a great programme of art education and mediation for children - by the haptic character of Arp's works. Due to this character I understood the sentence "Don't touch the art" as a kind of challenge rather than a warning.

TOUCH ME I ́M SICK
 
Grzegorzski Shows is pleased to present "Touch Me I ́m Sick", the solo exhibition of artist & musician Pia Bohr.
 
Typical of her work are the flowing contours, the curved silhouettes, the swelling forms, the curving surfaces and the soft transitions. The surfaces are mostly smooth so that the grain of the wood is clearly visible. It is reminiscent of veins, flesh or skin. It seems as if the biomorphic works of the artist are searching for an optical language that is able to grasp the spiritual spheres, beyond the world of appearances. So the idea of making something invisible visible in this case is already very fascinating.
Stylistically, Bohr's works are reminiscent of late works - especially the so-called human concretions - by the artist Hans Arp. The content of Bohr's sculptures also appears - similar to Arp sculptural work - on tiptoe and without any pretension. Just like the track of an animal in the snow. Pia Bohr's sculptures cope with geometric specifications. Although the work begins with a rough idea, the artist is ultimately guided by the grain of the material. She goes with the wood and trusts it.
The title of the exhibition, "Touch Me I ́m Sick", finds its origin in a song of the same name, published in 1988 by the grunge band Mudhoney. It is perhaps the most psychotic debut single ever released. The song was covered shortly after its release by New York alternative rock band Sonic Youth. Postpunk as a worldview, the notion of emancipation and the possibility and freedom to do anything to detach from the system is an important instance of the driving forces behind Bohr's works.
"Touch Me I'm Sick" refers to both protagonists on the show. It is the works of art speaking as well as their creator. Movement is expressed, sometimes in despair or protest. Different genders appear, the proportions are intentionally distorted or perhaps in this case "sick". We are - obviously - trained to keep a safe distance from the so-called "sickness". It should not be misunderstood, however, that something or someone sick is able to share his or her experience in a particularly explicit and unique way - which can be very tempting. Bohr's sculptures are therefore open to touch (Touch Me!).

Between 1984 and 1997 and from 2003 to the end of 2013 - under the name Pia Lund - Pia Bohr was a musician and singer of  Phillip Boa and Voodooclub. She is internationally known in the avant-garde rock scene. Bohr´s responsibility was especially to find melodies, both instrumental and vocal. Her sculptural practice is a continuation of her musical work with other means.

Text Jan Fischer

Material

Pia Bohr

TOUCH ME I AM SICK
27.05.2022 – 04.07.2022

Knapp über 15 Jahre her organisierte das Arp Museum am ehemaligen Bahnhof Rolandseck, eine der umfassendsten Wanderausstellung mit rund 200 Werken des deutschen Bildhauers Hans Arp. Ich wuchs nahe der das Museum beheimatenden Stadt Remagen auf, weshalb ich mich trotz Widerstands, unzählige Male von meinen Eltern mitschleifen ließ. Vor Ort angekommen, faszinierte - wahrscheinlich untermauert durch ein tolles Programm der Kunstvermittlung für Kinder - der haptische Aufforderungscharakter der Arbeiten Arps. Den Satz „Bitte nichts anfassen“ verstand ich im Kindesalter daher eher als eine Art Herausforderung als eine Warnung.

TOUCH ME I ́M SICK
 
Grzegorzski Shows freut sich, mit „Touch Me I ́m Sick“ die Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin & Musikerin Pia Bohr zu präsentieren.
 
Typisch sind die fließenden Konturen, die geschwungenen Silhouetten, die schwellenden Formen, die sich wölbenden Flächen sowie die weichen Übergänge. Die Oberflächen sind meist glatt, sodass die Maserung des Holzes sich deutlich zeigt. Sie erinnern an Äderchen, Fleisch oder Haut. Es scheint als suchen die biomorphen Werke der Künstlerin nach einer optischen Sprache, welche die geistigen Sphären, jenseits der Welt der Erscheinungen zu erfassen vermag. So ist die Idee einer - in diesem Falle - Sichtbarmachung etwas Unsichtbaren schon sehr faszinierend.

Stilistisch erinnern Bohrs Arbeiten an Spätwerke - insbesondere die sogenannten menschlichen Konkretionen - des Künstlers Hans Arp. Auch der Inhalt der Plastiken Bohrs tritt - ähnlich wie bei Arp - auf Zehenspitzen und ohne jegliche Anmassungen auf. Gleich wie die Spur eines Tieres im Schnee.
Pia Bohrs Skulpturen bewältigen geometrische Vorgaben. Zwar beginnt die Arbeit mit einer groben Idee, doch lässt sich die Künstlerin letztendlich von der Maserung des Materials leiten. Sie geht mit dem Holz. Lässt sich von der Arbeit führen. Vertraut ihr.
Der Titel der Ausstellung „Touch Me I ́m Sick“ findet seinen Ursprung im gleichnamigen, 1988 veröffentlichen Song der Grungeband Mudhoney. Er ist die vielleicht psychotischste Debütsingle, die je veröffentlicht wurde. Der Song wurde kurz nach Veröffentlichung von der New Yorker Alternative Rock Band Sonic Youth gecovert. Postpunk als Weltansicht, der Begriff der Emanzipation sowie die Möglichkeit und Freiheit alles machen zu können um sich zu lösen bildet eine wichtige Instanz der treibenden Kräfte hinter Bohrs Werken. Pia Lunds - wie sich die Künstlerin zuvor nannte - Karriere als Musikerin funktioniert hierbei als eine Art Initialzündung. 
 
„Touch Me I’m Sick“ bezieht sich auf beide Protagonisten der Ausstellung. Es sprechen die Kunstwerke sowie ihre Schöpferin. Es wird Bewegung ausgedrückt, manchmal unter Verzweiflung oder Protest. Es erscheinen unterschiedliche Geschlechter, die Proportionen sind absichtlich verzerrt oder vielleicht in diesem Fall „sick“. Wir sind - einleuchtender weise - darauf abgerichtet, einen Sicherheitsabstand zur sogenannten „sickness“ zu waren. Nicht verkennen sollte man allerdings das auch etwas oder jemand Krankes seine Erfahrung besonders explizit und einzigartig zu teilen vermag - was sehr verlockend sein kann.
Die Skulpturen Bohrs sind dadurch bedingt zum Berühren freigegeben (Touch Me!).
 
Pia Bohr war von 1984 bis 1997 und 2003 bis Ende 2013 - unter dem Namen Pia Lund - Musikerin und Sängerin bei Phillip Boa and Voodooclub und ist in der Avantgarderockszene international bekannt. Ihre Rolle war insbesondere die Melodienfindung, sowohl instrumental als auch im Gesang. Die bildhauerische Praxis versteht die Künstlerin als eine Fortsetzung ihrer musikalischen Arbeit mit anderen Mitteln.

Text Jan Fischer

Material